Disciplined for What?

Grateful for a bit of Northern California summer drizzle today. Add to that, the cat who still thinks I need to get up at 5 am although the carpooling 4 teens to school ended 2 weeks ago.  It is still early and I am attempting to get back to documenting something here.

This morning I read in 1 Timothy 4: For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come.

My response, ouch!  It took me 3 “read it agains” and 2 “I’m sorry I am so easily distracted”.  Finally in my open journal I wrote it, “Help”!

I am training for a 1st marathon. Yesterday on our family date at Barns and Noble I sat for over an hour with a stack of books and magazines all with “marathon” in the title. I gave my three children half hearted glances when they came to eagerly show me what they found. I am talking about 12, 15 and 16 year olds excited about books and knowledge.  (Well the 16 year old found those books with photos and tag lines that make you LOL and I did). Regardless, I was driven and distracted.  Paul’s directions for Timothy, finally, confronted me and convicted me.  Last Friday I spent 3 1/2 hours running by myself, for fun. Many at my gym know I am training. My schedule each day revolves around when I will get my miles in.  When I am not sweating, planing to sweat or showering off my sweat, I am reading about how to sweat more. And struggling with hearing from God.  What is wrong with me!

I hear the stirring of people awaking. I ask again, “Help!”. I desire to use my moments intentionally and worthily. The tension of it all has moved me here, to document. I am considering myself accountable now. First Timothy 4 doesn’t end there.

This is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance. 10 That is why we labor and strive, because we have put our hope in the living God, who is the Savior of all people, and especially of those who believe.

11 Command and teach these things. 12 Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity. 13 Until I come, devote yourself to the public reading of Scripture, to preaching and to teaching. 14 Do not neglect your gift, which was given you through prophecy when the body of elders laid their hands on you.

15 Be diligent in these matters; give yourself wholly to them, so that everyone may see your progress.

What are you giving yourself wholly to today?

About Jackie Anderson

Desperately dependent, praying, wife of 1, mom of 5. Jesus is everything to me. For His fame.
This entry was posted in Discipline, Mothers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

