Used to

As a new stay at home mom (off the career track), I am often asked “what are your doing”?

I used to work in a hospital. I used to live in Nigeria and work with orphans. I used to have only 4 children. I used to call myself a nurse. I used to wear heels, have authority and opportunity. I used to school my children at home (temporarily). I used to go to that church. I used to…..

Now I don’t want to be defined. I just want to do what God puts before me today, faithfully.

Today I am up early to be productive. Today, although I am training, I am going to rest my running legs.  Today I am a foster mother to a 12 year old who moved in 8 days ago. Today I am going to show my 3 teens how to clean the house while they live in it and watch. Today I am going to worship and I may turn some music on loudly. Today I am going to look forward to my hubby coming home, it’s Friday! Today I am going to answer the phone and be available to people. Today I am going to dress in cloths, no sports bra. Today I am going to reward myself with a book in the hammock and give thanks for satisfaction in all this.

I would like to someday use the grand experiences of my past to help and encourage others to live boldly. I am average but I choose abundance. Balancing today and yesterday aiming for the future. I am not finished yet.

What past are you allowing to limit your present?

What will it take for you to be content with your today?

About Jackie Anderson

Desperately dependent, praying, wife of 1, mom of 5. Jesus is everything to me. For His fame.
This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Used to

  1. rachealdhelmick says:

    It sounds like you are in a new season of life. I love that you included the phrase “desperately dependent”. Two words that seem to go together in describing our lives in Christ. My season looks like a unemployed 32 year female who is still single, and learning that God removes the “good” things in our life to give us the Best; the best is always Himself. I’m not sure what my next job will be, but I’m writing. And, like you, trusting Him with what He puts before me each day. My friend always tells me “You don’t want to miss today’s glory”. Im glad I found you through the “Goins Tribe” and hope to see you keep writing. 🙂

  2. Jackie – You rock! You already are an encourager. Keep it up! The world needs all the encouragement it can get. : – )

  3. Your post is such a good reminder for me in so many ways. I need to remember to live faithfully, and to do what God has put before me today, not looking behind me (the past) or ahead of me (the future).

Leave a Reply

