Happiness is a project?

A new bike!                       

It was our month-a-versary. So we celebrated and bought our new 12 year old foster child a bike. The one he wanted (not a road bike so he can ride with  the family on longer jaunts) but the Tony Hawk trick bike from Costco. Every time we go into a store he wants something.  Being parental and careful we have not indulged every request. Socks yes. Bathing suite, absolutely. But not every snack and pack of gum. He is a great guy and we are so blessed. But it is challenging adding a 12 year old who has not had much good parental influence, ever. So the bike. After swimming lessons today I suggested, “next week you can ride your bike (the straight easy mile) to the pool.” “I can’t ride it anywhere, someone will steel it”, was not the response I wanted. “Why have a bike then?” “I will ride it around the house”.  So glad he wants to stay close to home but, really? He got a bit angry and I responded with the offer of my very nice bike which he could ride. I am not afraid of it getting stolen.

Does happiness need to be worked at?                

Perspective certainly matters in all our lives. Our newest son has had many thing stolen in the past. He came to us with a bag of cloths and a few items he recently earned in the shelter he was living in. His stuff, is very important to him. Buying, getting , keeping, mean so much more to him than I understand.

In the attempt to use my time at home with 4  preteen/teens, I am realizing my need to be intentional and thoughtful.  I am grateful to have stumbled upon Gretchen’s book to give validation and a push.

Admittedly I have not even completed the book (which is checked out from the public library, on my e-reader and due in 24 hours).  The “Happiness Project”, is Gretchen Rubin’s inspiring and thorough path that set a pattern for my own.

But as I completed a chapter and realize, if I don’t do something, this will just be another book I have read and enjoyed but not been changed by.  I want to change. I want my life to be reflected in joy to the world, and it is July 5th not December 25th.

I am certain I am not the only one so I am challenging you too.

You can read the book.

You can do the book.

You can follow the blog.

You can jump into the online tool box.

When it comes down to it. You, I, we, all have a choice. Average is the majority but abundance is my choice.  (I love that I don’t have to quote someone here. That is my tagline.)

Questions from the “getting started” tab.

  • What makes you feel good? What gives you joy, energy, fun?
  • What makes you feel bad? What brings you anger, guilt, boredom, dread?
  • What makes you feel right? What values do you want your life to reflect?
  •  How can you build an atmosphere of growth—where you learn, explore, build, teach, help?
About Jackie Anderson

Desperately dependent, praying, wife of 1, mom of 5. Jesus is everything to me. For His fame.
This entry was posted in Intentional Living and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

